who we are

The Duplicates, an Austin based theater ensemble, was formed in 2009 by co-creators Rowan Doyle, Darwin Gilmore, Tom Horan, Courtney Sale and Cheng Wei Teng. Since that time, The Duplicates have created a body of work that has earned a loyal following and made it one of Austin's most exciting and experimental emerging companies.

The Duplicates create theater using an enormous array of subject matter and theatrical styles. The works combine elements of hi-tech and lo-tech design, folk music, shadow puppetry, baffoon and clown styles, existing and new text, performing objects and illusion. Defying definition and creating from a true sense of collaboration, the group describes its process and product as the ultimate expression of democracy where the majority rules and tyranny retreats. And judging by their work, The Duplicates majority have a penchant for work that is both irreverent and sacred. Their productions include: a site-specific spectacle about the Dionne Quintuplets entitled The Fictional Life of Historical Oddities, a playful memorial entitled september play, a looping ghost story entitled Static, and a drive in theater about Elvis’ car entitled Elvis Machine.

The Duplicates have been featured in American Theatre Magazine, Dramatists Magazine, Austin Chronicle, The Daily Texan and UT Know. Our work has been funded by Austin Scriptworks, USA Artists, UT's School of Graduate Studies, The University Co-op and UT Department of Theatre and Dance.


Bob & Mona Becker
Sloan Buffum-Robbins
John Cash Carpenter
Steven Dietz & Allison Gregory
Jenny Doyle
Roger Foster
Michael Gallup
Jenn Hartmann Luck
Sean Horan
Mike Horan
Scott Kanoff
Ana Lozano
Denise Martel
Kim & Nancy Morgan
Emily Paige
Lance Park & Scott Carnz
Brien Reep
Chuck & Sharon Sale
Shahid & Sharon Ullah
Zachary Ullah & Holly Kwansy
Carey Whitehead

Mke & Tippy Ameres
Sydney Andrews
Sallie Ann Haynes
Haydee Antunano
Sara Athans
Rachel Atkinson
Jen Baker
Emily Batlan
Megan Becker
Caleb Britton
Claire Buchanan
Elissa Castles
Mary Catherine Donnelly
Leslie Ann Chastain
Abra Chusid
Sarah Coleman
Courtney Collins
Adele Connolly
Dean Corrin
Will Davis
Gabriel Dean
Chad Deverman
Maggie DiGiovanni
Sile Dooley
Will Douglas
Simon Doyle
Michelle Flanagan
Lauren Gallup
Natalie George
Rachel Gilbert
Holli Gipson
Rebecca Goldstein
Isaac Gomez
Wilberth Gonzalez
Diana Grisanti
Nicole Gurgel
Michelle Habeck
Jennifer Harder
Harrison Harvey
Andrew Hinderaker
Libby Hladik
Kevin Horan
Lindsey Horan
Kate Huisentruit
Richard Isackes
Lauren Jacobs
Geoffrey Kershner
Liz Kimball
Judy Knaak
Abe Koogler
Travis Kuhl
Stephen Low
Kirk Lynn
Sean Manning & Courtney Sale
Gerry Martel
Nicole Martin
Noah Martin
Laura Mcdonald
Jean McFadin
Diego Medellin
Susan Mickey
Erin Moore
Amanda Morish
Glen Murchison
Sue Musak
Lydia Nelson
Mary O'Brien
Brian Oglesby
Eleanor Owicki
Tina Parker
Rudy Ramirez
Callie Raynor
Olivia Reep
Gabrielle Reisman
Dorian Robison
Sarah Saltwick
Diane Sara
Alexis Scott
Chrissy Shackelford
Derek Shetterly
kt shorb
John Smiley
Tim Stafford
Melissa Stephanou
James Still
Krissy Vanderwarker
Proletina Veltcheva
Jenna Voss
Phil Wienholts
Steve Wilson & Erin Barlow
Lily Wolff
Katelyn Wood
Andi Yoxall